My Dissertation Journey: Day 3 (Still Trying to Select the Videos)

Day 3: I’m Still Trying to Select Videos

Guys,

I cannot even tell you how tasking it is to actually select the appropriate music videos for my analysis and video elicitation.

Why? Well, because there as so many things to place into consideration, and so many videos to choose from!

Thing is, I don’t want a situation whereby I present music videos to my participants and they have no idea what they are or who they are by unless I tell them. But when I think about it now, that’s not totally a bad thing, however it would be bad thing when we move in to the new millennia and they have no idea what song it is. So picking anybody other than Nicki Minaj in the 2010’s would be a problem, right?

Stepping away from Nicki.

Now, I’m facing an issue where I don’t know whether to choose really successful features over popular but not-as-successful solo videos. Take the case of Eve.

Eve is definitely a female MC to reckon with. Best known for her word play, ruff ryder demeanour, and paw tattoos on each breast, I can’t keep her out of the list. However, I have to chose one video. We have Who’s that Girl and Let Me Blow Your Mind (Feat Gwen Stefani) her most successful singles. “Who’s That Girl” peaked at No 7 in the UK charts, 47 in the Billboard Hot 100, and 97 in VH1 best Hip Hop songs of all time. On the other hand we have “Let Me Blow Your Mind” that won a Grammy and also peaked at No 2 on the Billboard Hot 100. Now, I would prefer to analyse a video that has Eve as the focus, and not having a featured artiste. Also, I just feel like when you think of Eve, the first song that comes in to your head is “Who’s that girl… na na na na na na na na na Eve’s that girl” But then again I could be (very) wrong. So I don’t know.

Now, the resolution to this dilemma, is considering the contribution the featured artiste makes to the representation of the artiste herself. My Supervisor (Bless her! She’s the best) said…

best supervisor

So, now that’s off my back. Let’s move on.

Another Issue I’m facing is not selecting too many videos from one artiste. For example, MC Lyte was the female rapper with the most No 1 singles according to Billboard’s Hot Rap Songs Chart from 1989 – 1999. I’m definitely going to analyse and present Cha Cha Cha, because It was the first No 1 Hip Hop record by a female rapper (Still according to Billboard’s Rap Chart) and was released in the late 80’s, the alleged birth period of Hip Hop. But she had a number of other songs that did well in the charts and I don’t want to have to select more than 2 videos by any artiste. Else, I’d be analysing like 20 videos, and then I would have too many words for my dissertation.

I just got an idea. I’ll select videos based on era where artiste prominence and/or commercial success fail me… that way I can narrow down my options effectively.

Hold on…

*after at least 35 minutes of watching videos and finding out their release dates*

This is what my list looks like so far

1980s:

Cha Cha Cha – MC Lyte (1989)

Push it – Salt-N-Pepa (1986)

1990’s (Busy Year):

I’ll be – Foxy Brown Feat Jay Z (1997)

Cold Rock a Party – MC Lyte Feat Missy Elliot (1996)

Expression – Salt-N-Pepa (1990)

Afro Puffs – Lady of Rage (1994)

Crush on you – Lil’ Kim (1997)

Doo Wop (That Thing) – Lauryn Hill (1998)

U.N.I.T.Y – Queen Latifah (1993)

2000’s :

Tables will Turn – Foxy Brown Feat Baby Cham (2001)

No Matter What They Say – Lil’ kim (2000)

Get your freak on – Missy Elliot (2001)

Work it – Missy Elliot (2002)

Let me Blow your Mind – Eve Feat Gwen Stefani (2001)

2010’s:

Anaconda – Nicki Minaj (2014)

I decided to allow videos that featured other artistes, due to my Supervisors point that other artistes, especially based on gender and race may contribute to the representation of the artiste in question.

Now looking at this list, you can see the 2010’s has just one video. I know, it speaks a lot about the Hip Hop scene on the female streets. I was discussing this list with someone I really respect and she made mention of Azaelia Banks. I literally slapped my forehead (Can you imagine some girl slapping her forehead in the library, nearly knocking off her glasses? It’s hilarious, I tell you). So, yeah I forgot Azaelia Banks… Bite me.

So, even though I still have to thin out this list, I have to consider at least one more artiste to make the evolution somewhat more balanced. I was thinking throwing in Lil’ Mama’s “Lip gloss” but I don’t know.

Yo! Tell me what you think okay, It’ll really help me. If you don’t want to comment or you just can’t comment below, just tweet at me, alright? Thanks guys.

Till the next post! (Which would probably be more about academic literature and not about these videos, but it’s going to be exciting and cool anyway I promise. I’ll show you the books I am studying and will be studying in the near future)

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

See. I told you they’re cool.

Bye guys!

xoxo

Davina

3 thoughts on “My Dissertation Journey: Day 3 (Still Trying to Select the Videos)

  1. MUSIC IS A DIFFERENT WORLD ESPECIALLY THE WESTERN BLOCK AND THE AVALANCHE OF CHANGE IT HAS GONE THROUGH. I DO HOPE YOU ARE ABLE TO CAREFULLY PUT THE STROKES PARALLEL TO DISCOVER THE PURPOSE AND ANSWERS YOU SEEK. I’M WATCHING

Leave a Reply

