What is Your Aspiration in life?

If you haven’t watched “Pretty Hurts” Video by Beyoncé, do yourself good to watch it…

In the video Beyoncé was asked by the Beauty Contest Host “What is your aspiration in life? ”
She came up with this answer “To be Happy”

It just struck me how important that answer was.
Timing is everything. I knew what she meant as at the time of the video’s release in 2013 but I’m just realising the gravity of what was said.

Yesterday,  a paramedic on an ambulance on the way to the nearest hospital asked me what I would want to do with my Masters degree when I’m done.
In my weakness and desperation to feel well, complete honesty wasn’t hard. It wasn’t difficult and I didn’t hesitate to admit to the thing I fear the most.
I told him “I honestly don’t know, I just want to be happy”. I didn’t know how that came out of my mouth. But it did.
The paramedics were sweet as they spoke kind and encouraging words to me as I dipped in and out of consciousness.
Fast forward…

Today, I’ve been brainstorming on a new music project, and I asked myself what I want the outcome to be.
I realised that such a project could be an avenue for an Artiste to show off how creative and unique he or she can be.
But I chose to do something in that nature not to show off what I can do, I honestly can’t do much, but to show what I love and I am happy with. I asked myself if I would be sad if I didn’t get enough reception or exposure from it and I found that I was just looking forward to going back to the studio and being happy with the creative process and all the hard work that must be put into it.
I was and still am just looking forward to being happy without choosing to he happy in the midst of a bad situation.

I had a conversation with my brother about wages in this country and how he wouldn’t mind deviating into something he didn’t dream of doing initially as long as the pay is good. All I could say after his long speech was “I just want us all to be Happy”.

I wondered if getting all I think I want in life would make me happy.
I wondered if keeping all the people I think I need in life would make me happy.

So, I’m not the best writer but all I’m trying to say is
Do something because it makes you happy
Not because it would make people like you or its financially profitable or because everyone else is doing it or whatever
Because at the end of the day, it would most likely lead to your loss of self

My aspiration in life is to be happy.

Leave a Reply

