“Now that you are female in Nigeria” – Why I am a feminist.

Perfectly said!

The Stoic

On a hot day in an art studio belonging to one of Nigeria’s greatest contemporary artists, I was engaged in a discussion with two female artists, part of the younger generation. The discussion was on the topic of feminism and the right of the girl-child and women in the country. Various things were discussed, and I spoke, asked questions and most of all I listened. Up until that moment, I was only partly sure I was a feminist. Yes, I said the dreaded word. The word that makes me seem anti-Christian to some and a wuss to others. I am a feminist. The reason for this piece to explore the ‘why’ of my decision. I do not do this to placate any person or to prove myself to anyone. I write because I too believe that we all should be feminists.

After the discussion, I wrote a letter. A letter…

View original post 1,240 more words

Leave a Reply

